Club Notes – 18th December 2012

Postman Paddy and Vice-Captain Senan Deliver

The 2012 Sperrin Springs Leo Kavanagh Winter Cup came to an exciting conclusion on Sunday past, with Paddy O’Kane and new Vice-Captain Senan Roarty, taking the honours in a very close encounter with Stephen McCay and Ciaran Duffy so close in fact that the match was finally decided on the 20th hole when the latter pair failed to make a par. The match ebbed and flowed throughout and was played to a superb standard with McCay and Duffy having the edge for the most part and indeed looked the likely winners when they led by 2 holes with three left to play, but a sloppy two holes saw the match level standing on the 18th, two great approach shots from O’Kane and McCay gave them an opportunity from 12 feet to win it, with Paddy’s putt horseshoeing out off the cup leaving Stephen a chance to seal the win but he was unable to close it out, the first extra hole was halved in par but the tie was sealed at the second tie hole when Roarty holed from ten feet for par and the trophy.
In the third and fourth place play-off, Past Captain Sean MacIntyre and Dermott Corry took the win with a good display against Paul O’Neill and Brendan O’Neill.   In Section A – Frankie Connolly and Chris McDermott came out on top from Conal Cooke and John Brolly in second spot, while in Section B the winners were Michael Neeson and Brian Kelly with Cathal McLaughlin and Joey Roulstone the runners up.
Please note the presentation for this event is now on Sunday 23rd December at 8pm Sharp.

Saturday’s Singles 15 holes
Eugene Patton was Saturday’s winner over the 15 holes in play with 38.5nett, from John Duddy with 38 pts and Joe Doherty with 37 pts, Enda Kennedy took the gross prize. The previous weeks singles went to Michael Baldrick with 39 pts with Paul McLaughlin the runner up with 38 pts and Kevin Keegan in third also with 38 pts, Paul McGill was the gross winner on this occasion.

Thursday Club
The Thursday club has moved on to week 11 with three weeks so far being lost to the weather conditions.

Week 9
1st Olive McNally 41 pts
2nd Martin Finlay 38 pts
3rd Liam mcCool 38 pts

Week 11
1st Jim Arbuckle 41 pts
2nd Kevin Gallagher 40 pts
3rd Liam mcCool 39 pts

In the golfer of the year table Pascal McGillian is the new leader by 5pts from Denis Porter with Oliver McNally in third place a further 15 pts behind.

The final day of the first session of the popular Monday Club event was played on Monday past with 12 teams participating.

The winners were Cahir Doherty, Patsy Wilson, Martin Finlay and Angus Callaghan with 90 pts, the runners up were Eddie McHugh, Eugene Patton Liam Curry and Robert Bell with 86 pts with Foncie McNally, Gerry Quinn, Michael Forbes and Seamus McPhilemy in third with 85 pts, the second phase gets underway on Monday 7th January.

Look out for a packed entertainment programme over the festive period. The Jim Devine Band are in the club this Saturday night 22nd Dec at 10.30pm all welcome, on Sunday night get in early for the very popular Strabane Concert Brass night which gets underway at 9.00pm sharp! On Boxing Night 26th Dec the brilliant “Mr Men” will provide the music with music also from “Klassix” Disco and on New Years Eve the music will be from “Friends” with a Traditional Piper seeing in the midnight hour everyone is most welcome.

The Captain, Council and Staff  would like to take this opportunity to wish all our members and friends a very Happy Christmas and a peaceful New Year.

Leave a Reply