First Win for McGinley

The Saturday Singles at Strabane Golf Club produced a close finish with Kevin McGinley and Junior Captain Ryan McGowan each posting superb scores of 43 points.  On count-back, McGinley was adjudged the winner, recording his first victory at the club.  Jim Callaghan was back in third place on 40 points, the same score as fourth placed Cathal McLaughlin.  Stephen McCay carded a three over par 72 to take the gross award, while the nines went to Dermot Corry and Stephen Quinn.

After two weeks of the Sperrin Springs Winter Cup, the league tables are beginning to take shape. In Section A, Noel McConnell and Roy Patterson are joint leaders with Michael and Aidan Baldrick, with both pairings having a maximum return of 8 points.  Just a half point back are the ever-dangerous Keith Patterson and Noel Kelly.

John Brolly and Niall Coulter are the only pair in Section B who have yet to drop a point.  They lead on 8 points with Dermot Corry and Sean MacIntyre in second place on 7.  A further half point back are Liam Doherty and Ryan Patton who share the third spot with Michael Forbes Sen. and Billy Doherty.

The JJ Teams event on Monday continues to attract a large entry. Last week’s results were:

1. J. Arbuckle, M. Harkin, P. McGillian, S. Diamond    112 points

2. D. Mullan, M. Baldrick, N. Coulter, J. Brolly               110 points

3. D. McGinley, L. McCool, C. Doherty, A. Callaghan   110 points

Danny Duffy was in great form in Week Three of the Thursday Club, winning comfortably with an excellent score of 41 points.  Paul McGarrigle just edged out Cahir Doherty for second place, both players finishing on the 37 point mark.  Also on 37 points, and leading the visitors’ section, was Michael Neeson.

Latest results from the Thursday bridge competitions are:

Week 1:           Winners:              Mary Gallagher and Claire McGrath

                           Runners-up:      Declan Doherty and Susan Doherty

Week 2:           Winners:              Roisin McGonagle and Margaret Bonnar

                           Runners-up:      Dympna Boyle and Dora Foley

Leave a Reply